grateful amazement

finding wonder…everywhere.

2014 : Coffee for Your Heart

on January 8, 2014

{This post is me taking a deep breath, closing my eyes, and diving in to Holley Gerth’s Coffee for Your Heart: 2014 Encouragement Challenge, an exciting invitation to share a weekly dose of encouragement from my little corner of the interweb. I hope that by stopping by, you’ll find your spirit lifted and your steps lightened a bit.}

2014.

My breath catches as I type it. You, too?
My knees knock a bit as I think about it. Yours, too?
My eyes mist over as I try to wrap my mind around it. Should I pass the tissues now?

How has it arrived so quickly?
So quietly and, yet, with such a clamor?
Where did all the days of 2013 even go? Do you wonder, too?

And now, already a week into this brand-spankin’-new year, I want to steady my breath, calm my knocking knees, and…look up. Did you know they say that that posture – looking up – stops the tears? I mean, physically stops them. Huh. Maybe spiritually, too?

This year, I want you to look up.

{And not only to stop the tears…but, if they’re trembling on your bottom lashes, it may help.}

I want you to look up.

When you’re standing at the sink, brushing your teeth.
Look up.

When you’re staring into the mirror, perfecting your best look.
Look up.

When you’re sitting, running your pen dry listing the tasks competing for your precious time.
Look up.

When you’re shifting from one gear to the other, racing to get there on time.
Look up.

When you’re scanning the aisles, determined to get the best deal, the best gift.
Look up.

When you’re scrambling, trying to get it all done before the clock strikes twelve.
Look up.

When you’re settling in for the night, wishing for restful sleep, wondering if it will come.
Look up.

I want you to look up.

And, when you do, I want you know – to really, really know – that you are right where you are supposed to be, that you have been filled with exactly what you need (and even emptied of what no longer serves you), that you are not alone.

Not by a long shot.

You see, when you look up, I know without a doubt you will find that you are loved beyond measure, that you were created to be precisely who you are becoming, that you are safely held and greatly treasured.

Because, dear one, when you look up, your gaze is met – gently, tenderly, fiercely – by the One who set your feet on this year’s path, who straightens your way even as you timidly step out in faith, who knows where those steps of yours will lead.

So, look up.

When you’re standing, staring, sitting, shifting, scanning, scrambling, or settling.
When it makes perfect sense at any given moment, or it’s as clear as mud.
When you feel brave, courageous, and bold, or fearful, nervous, and worried.
And, especially, when you don’t think you have the strength to lift your head.

Look up, precious friend.

And know…

You are loved.
Mightily, deeply, madly.

You are a masterpiece.
Beautiful, creative, wonderful.

You are held.
Lovingly, perfectly, eternally.

2014.
Let’s do this thing.

Coffee for Your Heart 150

3 responses to “2014 : Coffee for Your Heart

  1. holleygerth says:

    Thanks so much for linking up today with Coffee for Your Heart, friend! XOXO

  2. Barbie says:

    Thank you for the reminder to look up!

  3. Laura,
    Thank you for the encouragement. I love it! I loved how you said, “Because, dear one, when you look up, your gaze is met – gently, tenderly, fiercely – by the One,” it is a powerful phrase (paragraph actually). I will remember to look up often as a physical reminder of what my heart desires.

Leave a Reply

