grateful amazement

finding wonder…everywhere.

Joy in the Deep

on February 19, 2014

{So very grateful to be linking up again today with Holley Gerth at Coffee for Your Heart and Jennifer Dukes Lee at #TellHisStoryThere is so much joy to be found and so many stories to discover. I do hope you’ll click on through!}

‘What brings you joy?’
On the face of it, it seems a simple question.
A small, four-word query.
Scratch the surface and it shows itself to be a bit bigger.
A more loaded, harder-to-pin-down inquiry.
Dig deeper still and, if you’re like me, it takes on a life of its own.
A big, bouncy, ever-changing riddle…like some sort of amoebic punch balloon.

‘What brings you joy?’
On the face of it, my simple answer goes something like this:
‘Sunshine. Music. Flowers. Color. Dark – really dark – chocolate.’
Scratch the surface and bigger things emerge in my reply:
‘Family. Friendships. Home. Creativity. Accomplishments.’
Dig deeper still and…well, there are all kinds of things that live in my response…each of them shape-shifting from Light to Dark to Light again.
‘Faith. Truth. Love. Hope. Survival.’

The full definition of the word joy, according to Merriam-Webster.com, is ‘the emotion evoked by well-being, success, or good fortune or by the prospect of possessing what one desires.’

I like that.
It covers the Simple, the Just-Below-the-Surface, and the Deep.
Well-being? Got it. Answered in the Simple.
Success? Good fortune? Check. Covered in the Just-Below-the-Surface.
The prospect of possessing what one desires? Um…well…
…could it be that’s the rejoinder in the Deep?

For me, identifying those joy-full things – Faith. Truth. Love. Hope. Survival. – and the prospect of possessing them is the epitome of joy

When my world threatens to shatter, say, from the diagnosis of very aggressive breast cancer, to say I possess Faith is joy.

When lies and all kinds of crazy swirl inside – and around – me, to say I possess Truth is joy.

When hard people disregard and disrespect and damage, mostly out of their own hurts, to say I possess Love is joy.

When addictions and disorders menace precarious peace and crack tender trust, to say I possess Hope is joy.

When abuse, illness, and other forms of shadow jeopardize life and limb (and sanity), to say I possess Survival is joy.

There is One who makes the possession of each of those Deep Things possible.
One from Whom all those Deep Things flow.
And to think…to know…to live out the fact that I am possessed by Him…

Well, for me, that is the ultimate joy.

Possession = Joy
I really like that.

How would you the question ‘What brings you joy?’ today, friend?
Here’s one more thing I really like…the joy in the sharing.
Feel free to share your joy-full answer(s) with us here!

Coffee for Your Heart 
10 responses to “Joy in the Deep

  1. karrileea says:

    LOVE this! This is so powerful and true! Stopping by from both Holley’s and Jennifer’s today!

  2. dukeslee says:

    Such encouragement here!

    What brings me joy? Those friends in my life who make me laugh til I cry. 🙂

  3. Kaelynn Judd says:

    This is so beautiful. It really struck a few of my heartstrings and made me think about the true meaning of joy.

    As for what brings me joy, I wrote about it on my blog! I hope you can stop by for a visit!

    http://kaelynnjudd.com/

  4. Amen! God bless you, my sister.

Leave a Reply

