grateful amazement

finding wonder…everywhere.

To Not Be Wooden Fruit

on June 4, 2014

Driving east on Main Street earlier this spring, I spotted a gorgeous bowl of wooden fruit in the grimy window of a thrift store.

I was rushing to make it to an appointment on time, so I wasn’t able to swing into the one open parking spot and bop in to take a closer look. But I made a deal with my thrift-store-lovin’ heart – if that bowl of fruit was still perched in the window the next time I passed, it’d be a sign…like the fruit itself was saying, ‘I’m supposed to be yours. Come and get me.’

In the bustle of the next few days, thoughts of running back downtown to see if ‘my’ fruit was waiting for me were all but forgotten. And, quite honestly, I don’t remember what made me think of that I had made that deal with myself…I just know that, when I found myself on the inside of that thrift store about a week later, looking out the dingy windows, it was with wooden fruit (and it’s matching bowl) in hand.

It was still there.
So it was meant to be, that fruit and me.

It lives now in the center of my bar-height dining room table, resting there in it’s softly burnished, time-worn glory.

There is a bunch of grapes, a banana, a small-ish pineapple, a pear, three apples, and something that looks a bit like a pomegranate. It looks beautiful, artfully nestled in its apostrophe-shaped bowl.

Beautiful…
…and completely lacking in nutritive value.

When that thought first came to me, it stopped me short.

I pray that no one will ever say that when they look at my life.

Even though that wooden fruit can’t be bruised…and I so easily can.
Even though that wooden fruit always looks good…and I so frequently don’t.
Even though that wooden fruit has its own special place…and I so often feel scattered.

My heart’s cry is that the things I choose to say, the words I plunk out on this keyboard, the art I attempt to make, the way I strive to love, the grace I so deeply try to walk in, the friendship I venture to offer feel soul-nourishing to all whose lives intersect with mine at any given time.

I pray that those I engage – in whatever way – will see that I am nestled into Someone everlasting.
That I do my best to abide in the One who handcrafted me for Right Here, Right Now.

I have a feeling that’s your prayer, too, friend.
To nestle in.
To abide.
To offer something real.
To not be wooden fruit.

Heavenly Father,
We praise You and thank You for the invitation to abide in you. We are so humbled to realize that You have uniquely handcrafted each one of us and that Your plans for us are good. Please, Lord, let everyone we meet today be able to see You in what we say and do. We ask that You keep us from being wooden fruit. Help us to be brave even when we might be bruised, look a mess, or feel completely scattered. Help us to offer to others the something real You so graciously offer each of us. It is in Jesus’ name we pray…Amen.

{Wednesdays are such sweet days here! It’s the day of the week I get to link up with Holley Gerth and Jennifer Dukes Lee. It’s also the day you get to read more juicy, hope-filled, encouragement-rich words offered up by the other precious bloggers you’ll find when you click through! Enjoy!}

10 responses to “To Not Be Wooden Fruit

  1. I love this- nestle in to abide, to offer something real!- Thanks for this!- stopping in from Holley’s blog!

  2. sarahgirl3 says:

    Never thought of it that way, but no I don’t want to be wooden fruit! I will never look at it the same way, so thank you 🙂

  3. Laura – What a great reflection. I can think of all the ways that it’s easy for us to want a replica of what’s real instead of doing the hard work of authenticity. Thank you for this reminder.

  4. Oh gosh, Laura, this is so my prayer, too. Every day, I ask God to live in every word, look, thought and action that comes from me. I am a constant work in progress.

    I had to print your prayer to put in my morning pages.

    Thank you, Laura.

    Shari 🙂

  5. holleygerth says:

    Thank you so much for linking up with Coffee for Your Heart! I’m so grateful for your words. XO

Leave a Reply

