grateful amazement

finding wonder…everywhere.

Life Without a DVR

on June 9, 2014

Flashback to about three and a half years ago:
We’d just moved into our newly-built home (after my oncologist told us we ought to move away from the high-voltage power lines that inhabited the backyard of our previous house) and we’d decided we would try Life Without Cable TV. We attempted a variety of antenna set-ups to capture the signal of our five local television stations; but, alas, it was not to be. No reliable reception. So we bit the bullet and bundled the most basic cable tv package with our high-speed internet service (oddly saving $8/month in the process, because cable companies and the plans they offer are the most ‘logical’, ‘easy-to-comprehend’…right next to those of insurance companies – am I right?). Said cable package did not come with a DVR option, and we’d been without one for several months so we’d already survived our withdrawal symptoms. Honestly, we rarely ever scream ‘Wait! Replay that!’ anymore. We’re {mostly} used to having to remember to watch the few shows we really enjoy ON THE NIGHTS THEY ARE ORIGINALLY AIRED (gasp!), and the times we wish we had the opportunity to fast-forward through commercials are quickly satisfied with some binge-watching on Netflix. *wink

Flashforward to Sunday night’s Tony Awards:
The Mister said, ‘Hey, look at Harvey Fierstein’s shoes!’ I glanced up from my over-the-shoulder-reading of Baby’s texting conversation (because that’s the kind of Mom I am…and I’m not too proud to admit it)…and I missed the shoes! My first thought was, ‘Okay, let’s just rewind it.’ Then I remembered that WE DON’T HAVE A DVR. (Nevermind that we haven’t had one for years…I was really sad in that moment and felt a mild pang of that DVR Withdrawal.)

This Missing of the Fierstein Shoes got me thinking…when one doesn’t have a DVR, it is really important, when you’re watching something on television, that you stay engaged, aware, attentive, and in the present moment. Or you miss stuff. Fun stuff. Sad stuff. Important stuff. (Okay, sometimes, it’s just important-to-the-story stuff, but…) Sometimes even stuff that can make a difference in your life and the lives of those around you.

As I thought more about that, I realized the parallels to life itself. When one doesn’t have an Everyday DVR, it is really important, when you’re living your life, that you stay engaged, aware, attentive, and in the present moment. Or you miss stuff. Fun stuff. Sad stuff. (Because, believe it or not, there are priceless nuggets even in The Sad). Important stuff. (And, sometimes, we don’t even know it’s Important Stuff till later.) There is most definitely stuff that can make a difference in your life and the lives of those around you that you don’t want to risk missing.

Here’s another thing about living without an Everyday DVR…the replaying of events that ought to stay in the past (once you’ve grieved, processed, and let go of them…because those are all very important things to do) and the grooves that get worn into your heart and mind when you relive painful stuff over and over again don’t happen. Without the re-wounding that inevitably happens when we dwell in The Land of Sad, Hard, Painful Stuff, I believe God can help us to keep pressing on. He can work with our grieving, processing, and letting go in ways that will bring us closer to Him…and closer to who He designed us to be…when we we’re not constantly rewinding an Everyday DVR.

So, I’m glad for the reminder that missing Harvey’s shoes brought me.

I’m {mostly} good without having a DVR.

I’m going to do my best to disconnect the Everyday DVR that I sometimes try to bundle into the package that is my life.

And, as I grieve, process, and let go in real time, I’m going to work on staying engaged, aware, attentive, and present…so I won’t miss stuff.

Any of it.

Join me?

Philippians 3:13-14
No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.

{Wednesday again already, dear ones. There’s a lot of clicking to do when you sit with the remote for your television. And some of it leaves you feeling kind of empty. But clicking through here to Holley Gerth’s and Jennifer Dukes Lee’s will leave you anything but empty. Go on. Click on. You’ll be so glad you did!}

11 responses to “Life Without a DVR

  1. Kristin Hill Taylor says:

    Love this lesson in being present. Everyday life has a way of showing us the deeper things in life. I’m glad you shared this one! And I’m glad I linked up next to you at #TellHisStory.

    • LauraK says:

      So true, Krisitn – life is ripe with the deeper things. I pray to have eyes to see them when they’re right in front of me! 😉 Grateful to be at #TellHisStory with you.

  2. This is the way to live, Laura ~ in that present moment. It seems we all need these constant reminders of it, don’t we? Love it when that happens. 🙂

    Shari 🙂

  3. What a great analogy to paying attention to the “now” of life! (And I do LOVE my DVR–sigh.)

    Love this truth:
    “When one doesn’t have an Everyday DVR, it is really important, when you’re living your life, that you stay engaged, aware, attentive, and in the present moment. Or you miss stuff. Fun stuff. Sad stuff.”

    I hope I’ll be reminded of your words and this concept from now on, especially when I use my TV DVR. 🙂

    • LauraK says:

      Oh, Lisa! I sure loved my DVR, too! (Using it to watch Late Night with Jimmy Fallon got me through 6 rounds – 5 months – of chemo three and a half years ago! *smile)

      Grateful that you stopped by today – and shared your kind words with me. xo

  4. Beloved says:

    That was beautiful and very well said. Thank you.

  5. sarahgirl3 says:

    I agree we need to be in the moment and be intentional. But. But. No DVR? Whoo! You are brave!

Leave a Reply

